The Master Sgt. Marcia Triggs Award for Excellence is an annual award intended to recognize an Army public affairs non-commissioned officer, grade E6-E8, who has demonstrated outstanding and sustained excellence in leadership and performance through positions of increased responsibility and who sets an exemplary standard for others to emulate. The Master Sgt. Triggs award honors enlisted member service to the Army Public Affairs community over a period of at least five years or more. The ideal candidate is one who made significant contributions to improving the professionalism of the public affairs career field. The candidate can come from Active, Guard or Reserve components.



2017 – Master Sgt. Jason B. Stadel, NCOIC, 25th Division Public Affairs

2016 – Sgt. 1st Class Tanya Green, U.S. Army Drill Sergeant Academy, Fort Jackson

2015 – Sgt. 1st Class Jose Colon, DINFOS

2014 – Sgt. 1st Class Jeremy Crisp, 10th PCH

2012 – Sgt. 1st Class Daniel Symonds, 89th Sustainment Brigade

2011 – Sgt. 1st Class Duane Brown, OCPA-LA




The Master Sgt. Triggs Award is named after Master Sgt. Marcia J. Triggs, an Army print journalist and public affairs non-commissioned officer, who remained on active duty until her death. 

She deployed to Iraq twice with the 3rd Infantry Division, Fort Stewart, Georgia, and was working at the Office of Chief of Public Affairs at the Pentagon during the terrorist attacks on 9/11.